Common Plan Questions

What is the difference between Pro and Advanced?
What is the difference between Starter and Pro?
What are the differences between all of the plans?
What are the Basic, Unlimited, Premium, and Premium Business plan?
Can I upload RAW photos?
Can I upload directly from my photo program?
What is the largest file size I can upload?
Are there any extra fees?
Do I need to have a credit card on file?
What account level do I have?
Can I upgrade or change plans at any time? How does that work?
Can I downgrade my account?
How can I delete or close my account?
Do you have a monthly payment option?
Can I use my account balance for my subscription cost
Are there any discounts available?
What are referral codes?
How can I integrate your website into my main website as proofing galleries?
What is self-fulfillment?



What is the difference between Pro and Advanced plans?
The Advanced plan offers everything that the Pro plan offers and more. Some added features of Advanced plan that are important to many of our customers include:
Please see this link for a detailed account comparison.
 

What is the difference between Starter and Pro?
The main difference between Starter and Pro plans is that the Starter plan is used primarily for proofing, purchasing prints at base cost and showing work. Whereas with Pro plan, you are able to use our robust selling platform to sell your work for a profit. Please see this link for a detailed account comparison.
 

What are the differences between all of the plans?
You can compare the features included in each plan side-by-side at this link.


What are the Basic, Unlimited, Premium, and Premium Business plan?
Those are legacy plans that are no longer available to current users that are switching to a different plan and to new users signing up for a new plan.  Those switching plans and new users can only choose from a currently offered plan displayed here.

Click here for more details on the legacy plans.


Can I upload RAW photos?
Yes! You can upload and store RAW files with any of our current plans.
2 Gigabytes of free RAW storage is provided. You may store more than 2 Gigabytes of RAW files in your Zenfolio account for additional fees.  Fees are on a "per-usage" basis. Your account is charged per gigabyte of storage and billed monthly.

Please keep in mind that RAW files are not displayed in the Zenfolio subscriber's site and can only be stored in the account.  We currently support the display of images that have been uploaded in the following photo file formats: JPEG, GIF, PNG, TIFF.  Video files can also be displayed on the site as well.

The photographer is able to share the RAW file with others using a direct link to the file.  RAW files can also be shared or sold by linking the RAW file to an image, then allowing the download or purchase of that image.

For more information on the storing of RAW files, please click here!


What is the largest file size I can upload?
Starter account holders can upload image files up to 36 MB in size. Our Pro and Advanced account holders can upload image files up to 64MB in size. 
 
Uploaded Video and RAW files can be up to 2GB in file size.
 
You can compare the features included in each plan side-by-side at this link.
 

Can I upload directly from my photo program?
You can upload directly with some programs such as Aperture and Lightroom.

Please click here for a list of programs that can be used to upload photos to Zenfolio.
 

Do I need to have a credit card on file?
For security reasons, we do require all accounts to have a valid credit card on file.   See this link for how to review and edit the credit card on file.


Are there any extra fees?
There are no additional hidden fees associated with any of our accounts. Here is a full list of all fees that may be charged.
  • Plan subscription fee.
  • Service Fee for selling products- you can see the service fee amounts charged here.
  • RAW Storage fee after the free 2GB of space provided- click here for more details.
  • $5 check fee when requesting a payout by check.  Zenfolio does not charge any fees for requesting payouts via ACH transfer or Paypal with the exception of the below.
  • A $25 fee for returned ACH transfers- this is only charged when incorrect bank account information has been entered and the transfer is rejected by the bank.
And that is it.
 

What account level do I have?
You can check your subscription level by logging in to your account, going to the Settings.  Your current plan level's name will be displayed in the Account Information page.
 

Can I upgrade or switch to a higher plan at any time? How does that work?
If you already have an account, you can upgrade to a higher plan at any time. You will receive a pro-rated credit for the remaining time of your current plan, which will be applied towards a new one-year subscription with the higher plan. The remaining difference will be charged to your credit card on file. 

You can Upgrade your account and purchase a plan by clicking Upgrade in the Account Information page under the Settings tab. Please see this link for details.


Can I downgrade my account?
You can downgrade your account at any time by contacting our Customer Support team here. Please note we are only able to provide refunds (partial or otherwise) within 30 days of purchase or renewal of annual plans. No refunds are provided for the monthly plans. For this reason, we recommend downgrading your plan at the end of its annual or monthly term.

Also switching from an annual plan to a monthly plan is considered a plan downgrade, even when switching to a plan with more features.

To downgrade your plan, please contact Zenfolio support before the end of your annual or monthly term.
 

How can I delete or close my account?
We would be sorry to see you go, but we understand that your goals and priorities may change. If you would like to close your account, please please click here to go to the cancellation form.

Please note that refunds are available within 30 days of signing up for or renewing an annual subscription plan. No refunds (partial or otherwise) are issued after 30 days into a new subscription or 30 days after the renewal date. No refunds are provided when cancelling monthly plans.
 

Do you have a monthly payment option?
We do provide annual or monthly plan option for our current plans. The annual plan are charged at a lower annual rate compared to the monthly plans so signing up for the annual plans is encouraged.

Please see this link for a list of the current plans and their annual and monthly costs.

If you're not happy with an annual plan for any reason, just cancel within 30 days and we'll give you a full refund. No refunds are provided for the monthly plans.
 

Can I use my account balance for my subscription cost?
Any positive account balance in your native currency will automatically be used toward the cost of your subscription renewal. This will be used first, and any remainder will then be charged to the credit card on file.
 

Are there any discounts available?
With our referral program, the new user will get a discount on their first year's subscription and the referring member earns a matching credit. You can read more about our referral program at this link.


What are referral codes?
Every account comes with its own, unique referral code. Refer a friend and both of you will earn a 10% credit! You can read more about our referral program at this link.


How can I integrate your website into my main website as proofing galleries?
If you have a current website hosted elsewhere, proofing and selling can be incorporated using the Client Access feature available in our Pro and Advanced plans. With this feature, your visitors will enter a client access code and be taken directly to the proofing gallery that matches the code entered. You can learn how to set this up at this link.


What is self-fulfillment?
One of the benefits of our Pro and Advanced accounts is that you can offer Self Fulfilled products for sale through your site. With Self Fulfilled products, your customers use your Zenfolio site's shopping cart feature to place their orders for your Self Fulfilled products.  We then forward the order details to you for you to fulfill and ship the order to the client.

When selling self fulfilled products, you can specify how your customers will pay you: either directly (outside of Zenfolio), or have our system route them to your PayPal account to pay during the checkout process. Advanced users also have the option to collect payment for Self Fulfilled products using their own Merchant Service.

You can learn more about how to sell Self Fulfilled products here